The Order Is Love • Original Cast CD

The Order Is Love • Original Cast CD

Book and Lyrics by Carol Lynn Pearson

Music by Lex De Azevedo

The Original Brigham Young University production from 1971, now available on CD for the first time.

The tale of Orderville, Utah, 1875-1885, where over 700 Saints lived and worked and played and prayed together in the United Order, a version of the Law of Consecration, seeking Zion, learning tolerance and patience, expanding love towards charity. We see our own foibles and failings in those of the residents of Orderville as they learn the hard lessons of sharing, giving, getting along, and wondering how can I love my neighbor even when I can’t even stand him and after all I work harder than he does and my skilled work is worth more than his lowly weed-pulling. And oh, it’s about romantic love too, discovering that people are more important than things and that most important of all is how we treat one another. The play reaches a universal dimension as it shows man, whose feet are forever bound to mortal soil, but whose hands continue to reach for and sometimes touch a star.


  • List Price: $14.95
  • 52 minutes
  • 15 tracks
  • Zion Theatricals
  • UPC: 636160243201



1. Overture – Orchestra
2. Love Thy Neighbor – Ezra and Townspeople
3. A Little More Love – Ezra, Matthew, Garrison, Allen, Russell
4. The Lean Life – Matthew
5. We’re Brothers – Townspeople
6. The Things I Don’t Really Need – Catherine Ann, Matthew
7. Keep Your Seat To The Grindstone – Edward & Boys
8. Harvest Song – Townspeople
9. Progress – Peddler and Young Townspeople
10. The Husking Bee Dance – Francis Isadore, Catherine Ann and Young Townspeople
11. The Weeping Willow – Catherine Ann
12. Christmas Made To Order – Townspeople
13. Evening Prayer – Townspeople
14. Gotta Think About Mine – Various Townspeople, Catherine Ann
15. A Little More Love (reprise) – Ezra, Catherine Ann, Matthew, Townspeople


from the original cast album, which has been remastered from the only existing source: the original long-playing vinyl record album.


  • From this website through our PayPal Shopping Cart for the price of $14.95 (+shipping and Maine sales tax) Be sure to enter your zipcode where prompted on the PayPal order form. It will automatically calculate the shipping for your order.


THE ORDER IS LOVE can be optioned for production by interested producers exclusively through Zion Theatricals HERE.


from the catalog of